york botanic art prize at gallery 152

York Botanic Art Prize 2021


Congratulations to the finalists in the 2021 York Botanic Art Prize!

The prize will be judged by Ryonen Butcher, Sharon Tassicker and Mikaela Castledine, with the winner announced at the formal opening on Sunday 21 November 2021.


George Aitken
Bryce Anderson
Luke Barlow
Natalie Blom
Jack Buckley
Claire Bushby + Donna Franklin
Sophie Carnell
Jacky Cheng
Erin Coates
Jennifer Cochrane
Sue Codee
Jane Coffey
Jo Darvall
Joanne Duffy
Sarah Elson
Audrey Fernandes-Satar
Angela Ferolla
Jenny Gilbertson
Hannah Goggs
Joanne Hayward
Sam Hopkins
Rebecca Jensen
Leahlani Johnson
Megan Juresa

Aleisha King
Sophie La Maitre
Camilla Loveridge
Lucille Martin

Shauna Mayben
Rebecca Mayo
Mark Mohell
Annette Nykiel
Holly O'Meehan
Pamela Pauline
Krystle Ricci
Tracey Robinson
Judy Rogers
Gai Saunders
Bella Scharfenstein
Valerie Schöenjahn
Doug Schofield
Bruce + Nicole Slatter
Colleen Southwell
Joanna Sulkowski
Louise Wells
Robin Wells
Laura Williams
Jude Willis
Peter Zappa



JULY 2021


Due to the continuing impact of the current Covid-19 outbreak, the deadline to submit expressions of interest has been extended by two weeks.


Botanical art in the expanded field.

Expressions of interest are now invited for the York Botanic Art Prize 2021 from artists working across a range of mediums, including, and not limited to, painting, mixed media, works on paper, digital, video, photography, sculpture, and textiles.

Western Australia is renowned worldwide for its incredible diversity of plant life, with some of the richest biodiversity on the planet and a large percentage of species being endemic to this land. The York Botanic Art Prize, now in its second year, was conceived to celebrate this abundance of unique flora and highlight the importance of its conservation in the face of increasing threats.

Botanical art in Australia has undergone somewhat of a renaissance in the last 10 years; however, unlike other botanical art prizes, we're not looking for scientific illustrations nor necessarily representative work - the only limitation being that work must directly relate to the theme of Western Australian flora and make reference to specific WA species. Artists whose work challenges traditional notions and conventions of botanical art, in a sense 'botanical art in the expanded field', are encouraged to enter.

The inaugural Prize received hundreds of expressions of interest from around Australia, with the 58 finalists representing the breadth and diversity of contemporary art practice. The winner of the inaugural Prize was Kirsten Hudson's work Requiem (Kalyakoorl), a handmade 16mm cameraless film that chronicles the five-month lifecycle of a field of Everlastings (Rhodanthe chlorosephala subsp. rosea), fulfilled this brief outstandingly. In awarding Requiem (Kalyakoorl) the Prize, the judges said "at a time when many of us are turning our work and interests towards the local, this four-minute film perfectly encapsulates how creativity can be utilised to investigate matters of profound complexity" .


Winner: $11,000
People's Choice: $1,000

Finalists will be exhibited in York, Western Australia, at Gallery 152, 22 November 2021 - 23 January 2022.

The prize will be judged by Ryonen Butcher, Sharon Tassicker and Mikaela Castledine, with the winner announced at the formal opening on Sunday 21 November 2021.

Entries by Expression of Interest close Sunday 1 August 2021 11.59pm AWST.

Submit your EOI to: ybap@gallery152.com.au

Follow the York Botanic Art Prize on Instagram


Download Application Information, Prize Details and Terms & Conditions

Download Expression of Interest



View 2021 Information & Finalists

View 2020 Information & Finalists


We acknowledge the Balladong Noongar People as the original custodians of this land. We recognise their continuing connection to land, waters and culture and pay our respects to their Elders past and present.

The York Botanic Art Prize is supported by the Wildflower Society of Western Australia.